Main Menu
Welcome Guest.
Please log in.

The Shard Economy

Started by Abraxus, October 10, 2010, 10:00:05 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Abraxus

First off, I'm pretty new to the shard. I'm loving it so far and much kudos to the development team (Konstantine & Co.).

I'm starting to become attached to the shard and naturally, the well-being of the shard is becoming a concern for me. The world economy of UO is one of the things that keeps me coming back to this game - an economy that is vibrant and balanced will do the shard well in attracting and retaining a large player base. This brings me to my points.

The inflation of the value of gold.
I'm not sure how it came to be that items on auction and vendors came to such high numerical values. All I know is that if left unchecked, the economy will spiral out of control to a point where it will be very hard to perform market correction. How is the gold-currently-being-circulated being generated? Is there a check on the inflow of this gold? How about sinks? Are there sufficient channels of outflow for the gold, especially at the level of the established players?

A runaway gold economy would be bad for the economic stability of the shard, which detracts from the player experience for all. Especially painful for the shard is that it hurts the new players the most, since they cannot keep up with the large costs of items sold in vendors. If we endeavour to make the economy stable for new and medium players, we ensure that the shard will keep growing with new blood.

The player-vendor economy.
A key aspect of the world economy is the player-vendor system. If the Player Mall under the Pandora category of moongate is meant to be the main Player Mall, then it's a sad story indeed. The vendors hardly ever update and there are too many empty vendors left standing around. This makes shopping a tedious affair.